SPEEDWAY: Poole Pirates secure convincing win on 70th anniversary


Seventy years on from the club’s first ever meeting at Wimborne Road the Pirates of 2018 secured victory over Yarmouth, just as they had done on that historic occasion on this very day – April 26th.

Whilst the result back in 1948 was a far more comprehensive 74-32 National Trophy triumph, this year’s challenge fixture was considerably closer at 53-37 with the Pirates always in command, courtesy of an opening 5-1 from Brady Kurtz and Kacper Woryna over Troy Batchelor, who has had as much Wimborne Road track time this season as his Poole counterparts!.

Kurtz and Woryna further extended the lead when they clocked a 4-2 in their second ride, heat 4 and two heats later some super inside passing by Linus Sundstrom, first on Batchelor and then on Wells enabled Poole to move 8 points clear. Woryna and Kurtz extended the advantage to double figures, this time Woryna doing the lions’ share of the scoring with excellent use of the outside line.

Batchelor must have been watching intently from the pits, for in heat 8 he repeated the move to get the better of the previously unbeaten Poole skipper Josh Grajczonek and consequently, with Szczepaniak struggling out the back, the Bloaters celebrated what was to be their one and only heat advantage.

With heats 9 to 11 inclusive shared equally it took a heat 12 4-2 from Woryna and, this time, Sundstrom, to restore Poole’s double figure advantage. A tidy ride from the Pirates’ guest Jordan Jenkins to see off Alfie Bowtell for a point to add to Kurtz’s win in heat 13 assured Poole of their victory,

Sundstrom completed a good night’s racing with a third race win as heat 14 was again shared and then two excellent rides from Grajczonek and Woryna from former Pirates Klindt and Tungate put the biggest margin of the whole meeting between the two sides. 

Poole 53
B. Kurtz 3,3,1,1′,3=11+1
K. Woryna 2′,1,3,3,2’=11+2
J. Grajczonek 3,3,2,2,3=13
M. Szczepaniak 0,0,0,2,0=2
L. Sundstrom 2,3,3,1,3=12
J. Jenkins 1′,1,0,1′,1=4+2

T. Batchelor 1,2,3,0,2=8
R. Wells R,FD,1,R=1
R. Tungate 2,2,1′,2,0=7+1
J. Garrity 1′,0,2,3,2,1’=9+2
N. Klindt 3,2,2,3,1=11
A. Bowtell 0,1′,0,0,0=1+1

Ht 1 B. Kurtz K. Woryna T. Batchelor R. Wells (Rtd) 5-1 (5-1) (59.72)
Ht 2 J. Grajczonek R. Tungate J. Garrity M. Szczepaniak 3-3 (8-4) (59.94)
Ht 3 N. Klindt L. Sundstrom J. Jenkins A. Bowtell 3-3 (11-7) (59.81)
Ht 4 B. Kurtz R. Tungate K. Woryna J. Garrity 4-2 (15-9) (59.53)
Ht 5 J. Grajczonek N. Klindt A. Bowtell M. Szczepaniak 3-3 (18-12) (61.03)
Ht 6 L. Sundstrom T. Batchelor J. Jenkins R. Wells (Fell d/q) 4-2 (22-14) (AWD)
Ht 7 K. Woryna N. Klindt B. Kurtz A. Bowtell 4-2 (26-16) (60.46)
Ht 8 T. Batchelor J. Grajczonek R. Wells M. Szczepaniak 2-4 (28-20) (60.85)
Ht 9 L. Sundstrom J. Garrity R. Tungate J. Jenkins 3-3 (31-23) (61.16)
Ht 10 N. Klindt M. Szczepaniak B. Kurtz R. Wells (Rtd) 3-3 (34-26) (60.12)
Ht 11 J. Garrity J. Grajczonek J. Jenkins T. Batchelor 3-3 (37-29) (61.47)
Ht 12 K. Woryna R. Tungate L. Sundstrom A. Bowtell 4-2 (41-31) (60.25)
Ht 13 B. Kurtz J. Garrity J. Jenkins A. Bowtell 4-2 (45-33) (60.18)
Ht 14 L. Sundstrom T. Batchelor J. Garrity M. Szczepaniak 3-3 (48-36) (60.97)
Ht 15 J. Grajczonek K. Woryna N. Klindt R. Tungate (rtd) 5-1 (53-37) (61.50)
Rider of the Night: Linus Sundstrom



Leave A Reply